Carry on and Make it Work

Sorry folks… it’s been a LONG time since I’ve posted.  My apologies.  It’s not that I haven’t thought of posts, and have quite a few in various stages of draft.  But January-September is my ‘busy’ period at my day job and by the time I get home from the office, my brain is fried and I just can’t write (I write all day).  It’s all I can do to sit and knit an hour or two in the evenings.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been busy knitting… oh yes, very busy.  As any of you who follow me know, I’m in the midst of working through the Master Knitter designation through TKGA.  As of today, I’m about half-way finished with the required swatches for Level 2, and only slightly behind my self-imposed schedule to complete the portfolio.  And I’ve designed (I use the term loosely) a new sweater vest for Fall that I’ve FINALLY gotten started with.  It took quite a bit of waiting to get the wool shipped in from Scotland so my start with active knitting was significantly delayed.

starmore henry viii photo
The Original Starmore design that I’m adapting to a V-Neck Vest

It’s actually a really beautiful piece, based on charts from Alice Starmore (old charts from the 80s I think), but I didn’t want a crew neck sweater… so I’m re-writing the pattern as a v-neck vest.  But one thing I have noticed comparing Starmore’s charts and “traditional” Fair Isle charts… Starmore is a genius at arranging graphics that don’t have a noticeable jog at the round change!  This winter I hope to read her Fair Isle knitting book just for fun and enlightenment, but we’ll see what the schedule brings.

I’m also proud to say that I contributed a square to a wonderful project being done by our local men’s knitting group.  It’s a Pride Flag, composed of knitted squares contributed by both local and international male knitters.  Since everyone chose different shades of wool for their square, the overall effect is both Pride Flag and Quilt.  This week it will be displayed at our LYS just in time for San Francisco Pride, so when it’s hanging and complete I’ll nab a photo and share.  I’m truly proud to have contributed to this project, and I’m hoping that by being displayed in our very-supportive LYS, we male knitters will really make our presence known, and hopefully inspire others visiting the shop to be supportive of male knitters (and please support the store by increasing your stash!).  If you’re in town, please do support Imagiknit, located at 18th and Sanchez, San Francisco, in the Castro district.  Or shop with them online at www.imagiknit.com.

I really don’t have any tips to share right now (well, actually, I have quite a few tips to share, but not today — I need to knit some supportive materials to illustrate the tips and tricks and that takes time).

I’ve also been taking an online course in Entrelac — something I’ve wanted to try for quite a while.  While the technique itself really isn’t all that difficult, it can be tedious turning the work so frequently, so I’ve also been learning to knit backwards.  And on top of that I’ve also taught myself “flicking” — knitting English style without dropping the right needle.  This skill has really been making knitting stranded colorwork MUCH faster.

I hope you’re all knitting daily, and learning new skills.  And when the heat is on during the Summer months (as it is right now in the Bay Area), staying indoors to knit is a wonderful way to stay cool.

Knitting Comfortably

KnittingComfortably_Cover.inddI did receive a new text in the past few month that I’ve been trying to scan through and evaluate.  Knitting Comfortably:  The Ergonomics of Handknitting by Carson Demers.  So far, just flipping through, I’m impressed.  As a trained (and retired) sports massage therapist, I really am enjoying the physiology presented in the text, and the tips and exercises to increase productivity safely and efficiently are really wonderful.  If you have any pain at all knitting, or just want to head off potential repetitive stress injury, I do recommend this text.  You can order your own copy at the link below, or ask your LYS to carry it for you!

Order your copy here:  Knitting Comfortably – The Ergonomics of Handknitting

And that folks, for now, will do for today.  Until next time,

Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

