New Beginnings

Happy New Year everyone!  While I’m very much a home-body and am staying in (yes, I do have a bottle of Veuve Clicquot to ring in the New Year), I hope those who are out and about remain safe and warm as you celebrate.

I thought that with this post I’d like to do something a little different:  I’d like to take questions from YOU.  If you have a knitting question — for example, how to make your SSKs match your K2Togs, or dealing with sloppy edge stitches, gutters, tension issues, and the like — feel free to post in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer your question for you.  This is a chance to review skills you might not give much thought to, or find perhaps a nicer, better or easier way to work on your projects.  If you have friends who are NEW knitters, especially, direct them here to get some questions answered!  If I don’t have an answer off the top of my head, I’ll happily do a little research to answer your question.  Hopefully, this will be good for you, and I know that it will be good for me as I work through my TKGA Master Knitter program.  Please try to limit your questions to TECHNIQUE instead of specific pattern questions (though of course, if the problem you’re encountering is related to a pattern, feel free to ask and I’ll do my best).  As always, general comments are welcome, too.

You can use the “CONTACT” link to email your question if you like, or just leave it in the comments.

Update from my Knitting Studio

I’ve been able to complete a Fair Isle Vest (complete with steeks!).  That was QUITE the challenge… working Fair Isle (traditional patterning, and using Shetland Wool), reinforcing and cutting steeks, mitred-v neck band.  I hope to get a decent photo done soon for another post, but for tonight, we’ll just marvel that I was able to finish at all.  Now, is it perfect?  Oh hell, no.  Is it “good”?  Yes, it sure is.  But it could be better.  And THAT is what challenging yourself to do a complex project can teach you. With this project, I learned Fair Isle/Stranded knitting (I’d done a bit of it before, but not in traditional methods), I learned to knit steeks.  I learned to not have a panic-attack when I CUT my knitting (that was a biggie).  I even learned blanket stitch (how I never learned that before is beyond me).  I’ll wear it proudly.

But I also found things I need to work on:  Picking up stitches for the arm/neck bands in a neater and more efficient manner.  Finding a better way to weave in the 10-billion yarn tails in Fair Isle work (duplicate stitch weaving in doesn’t always work well when you have floats and multiple colors to deal with).  I experimented some on the vest, but I now know exactly which direction I need to do more research.  And THAT, my friends, is a GOOD thing .  It’s how we improve.

Now, people who’ve seen the vest in person are in awe that it is so gorgeous, but I see every little flaw.  And I’m learning to let go and enjoy the work that I accomplished.

Sock Pattern

You may recall that I mentioned two posts ago that I would be giving you a simple sock pattern — I haven’t forgotten!  The pattern is in process — just need to review and edit some of the instruction so that it will be “publish ready.”  I call them “Foggy Morning Socks” – inspired by the foggy mornings here in the San Francisco Bay area, and the colorway I used for the sample reflects the feeling of fog.  Of course they can be knitted with pretty much any sock yarn (as long as you get gauge!), but the pattern will include a photo of the sample pair.  In fact, I’m “testing” the pattern again by knitting the same socks using a totally different yarn that I found in my stash — and yes, the pattern works.

I’ve graded the sock pattern for adult sizes from Women’s S to Men’s L, so you’ll be able to find the size that’s right for you.  I’m also including tips on adjusting the fit, so even if you’ve never knitted a sock, you’ll have the tools to adjust the pattern on the fly.

TKGA Master Knitter Progress

Oy vey… I am just STUCK on writing this paper!  I finally decided to put it aside for the time being.  Too much stress here with a massive workload at the theater, and losing my beloved chihuahua just after the Christmas holiday has put a bit of a damper on doing scholarly research.  I’ll get back to it, but for now I think I’m just going to do some mindless knitting to keep my spirits up.

In Memoriam

jasper-and-a-daffodil

 

 

To my little stinkie-doodle, Jasper.  I love you and miss you terribly.  You were always by my side and gave me so much comfort when I needed it.  You’ve crossed the Rainbow Bridge before me, but I know I’ll  see you again.  Rest in Peace. – December 28, 2016.

 

 

 

I hope everyone has a peaceful New Year filled with knitting inspiration.

–Happy knitting!

3 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. I’m currently knitting my first piece of clothing, a sweater vest (as I didn’t want to have to deal with sleeves). I assume I block the front and back separately before I sew it all together. I knitted a swatch and have been obsessively checking my gauge during the knitting process.

    Any tips about sewing it together properly?

    Like

    1. Hi, Peter! Hope your holiday was nice there in Texas and that you weren’t missing the UK too much 🙂

      Congrats on working up your first garment! That’s a huge step in your knitting life. A vest is a good start, as you learn shaping, picking up stitches for armhole and neck bands, and steeking if you are working a steeked vest pattern. And I’m so PROUD that you have been obsessively checking gauge as you work!

      Your question is so good, that I’m writing an entire blog post just for the answer! I’ll post it later this afternoon, and will reply again with the link for you. Hope you’re doing well!

      –Scott

      Like

Leave a Reply

