And so it begins…

Welcome!  After prompting from several knitting friends, I’ve been convinced (or is that coerced?) into starting a blog.  You might ask “Why ‘confessions of a male knitter'”?  Well, the answer is simple:  I’m a male, I’m a knitter, and those of us who are male AND knitters need to step forth into the light and revel in the joy of knitting.

Do I have trepidation?  Of course!  My life is pretty busy with a full-time job, and knitting, and attempting to have a social life on occasion.  But nothing ever happens unless you take the plunge, so here goes.

I think, at least for now, this blog will be more or less an attempt to distill the thousands of thoughts and ideas I have on knitting, and place them in one location.  Maybe just for me, or perhaps someone will find them useful.  No worries, no judgment.

So… what to write on this first attempt?  Maybe a little background is in order.

I’m a self-taught knitter, so nearly every day I learn a new skill to add to my toolbox.  Fortunately, I’m in the process of working through the TKGA Master Hand Knitter program so I hope to be able to post tips, ideas and techniques to help YOU as well as myself.

I began knitting about 6 years ago, at the rather insistent prompting of a stage manager who was working for me… I was directing an intense and at times frustrating production at a theater company, and needed some way to relieve the stress.  Knitting fit that bill wonderfully.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t all sunshine and roses… I made LOTS of mistakes, picked up bad habits, and have since spent the last few years undoing the bad and focusing on improvement.  So the lesson here, kids, is DON’T GET FRUSTRATED!  Keep trying, rip it out, start again (and again, and again) but NEVER GIVE UP.  There will come a time when you have an ah-ha moment and everything falls into place.  It did for me (without a knitting teacher) and it can for you too.

And I suppose that is the lesson for today…. NEVER GIVE UP.  You CAN succeed.  You CAN knit beautiful garments, toys or whatever floats your boat.  Enjoy the process.

In coming posts I hope to address knitting from the ground up… basics, techniques, tips, and a touch of humor thrown in for fun.  Knitting isn’t life or death; it should be above all, FUN.

I’ll be happy to address any questions or topics you like, just let me know!  And if you enjoy reading my ramblings, let others know.

Until next time, keep knitting!

3 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. I’ve been a knitter for some 40 years now and one of the most interesting things I find about being a guy knitter is the difference in my approach to knitting from the women knitters I know. The general theory is that sailors invented knitting as a form of problem solving which coincides with my approach – any knit project is a math equation in need of a solution. I look forward to reading about your knitting perspectives and philosophies and see what we might have in common.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Scott (I’m also a Scott), I like your math equation comparison… I’ve felt that way too! I never really enjoyed math until I started knitting; and I know for many knitters, “knitting math” is like the dirty little secret people hide in their closet, not talked about, frequently worried about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

